Gemeente Toerisme Damme

Church of Our Lady

Damme's absolute must-see is the robust Church of Our Lady with its characteristic flat tower. From April to September, you can climb the 206 steps to enjoy a wonderful panorama. There is a phenomenal view of the 17th-century city walls, the Damme Canal and the extensive polder landscape. 

 

Spire on the tower

The Church of Our Lady was built in 1225. During the 13th century, it was further developed in the Scheldt gothic style, which is Romanesque with gothic elements. Later, the church was further embellisched. In the 14th century, the study tower was finished with a spire. The golden age of Damme was reflected in the scale of the church which gradually began to take on the air of a cathedral. Still, the decline had already begun before the last expansion works were completed.

 

Heavy expenses

In 1578, Damme was conquered and plundered by the Geuzen. The church was later restored, but failed to overcome the ordeal. The population declined rapidly, particularly when Damme also became garrison town of the Spaniards. The expenses for the big church were too heavy for the community. Part of the monumental church was demolished, as well as the spire. Now the remaining separation walls between the heads and aisles give an idea of the size of the original church.

 

Rare pieces

Be sure to take a look inside the Church of Our Lady. The interior looks impressive. Above the nave pillars, ou see wooden apostle statues from the 13th century. They survived the religious violence of the 16th century. Also note the miracle cross above the altar. According to the legend, fishermen from Damme fished the cross from the sea. It is now carried every year during the Procession of the Holy Blood in Bruges. Furthermore, the church houses valuable baroque altars and a confessional from the 17th century. You will also find some very old gravestones. The famous poet Jacob van Maerlant is buried here. His original tombstone disappeared in the 18th century. Now all that is left is a memorial plaque.

 

also read: Roland, tower keeper

Share this page

Visit Damme

Jacob van Maerlantstraat 3 8340 Damme Phone+32 (0)50 28 86 10 toerisme@damme.be
Today
open 9.30-12.30 h. and 13.00-17.00 h.

For professionals

Gemeente Toerisme Damme

Eglise Notre-Dame

Le 'must-see' de Damme, c'est la robuste église Notre Dame avec sa tour plate carcactéristique. D'avril à septembre, vous pouvez gravir ses 206 marches pour y jouir d'un splendide panorama. La vue sur les remparts de la ville, datant du 17e siècle, sur le canal de Damme et sur le vaste paysage des polders, est phénoménale.

 

La flèche sur la tour

L'église Notre Dame a été bâtie en 1225. Elle fut agrandie dans le courant du 13e siècle dans le style Gothique scaldien, un style roman comportant des éléments gothiques. Par la suite aussi, l'église fut encore embellie. Au 14e siècle, une flèche fut construite au sommet de la robuste tour. L'heure de gloire de Damme se reflétait dans la taille de l'église, qui prenait petit à petit des allures de cathédrale. Le déclin de la ville était pourtant déjà entamé avant même que les derniers travaux d'extensionne soient achevés.

 

Des charges trop lourdes

En 1578, Damme fut conquise et pillée par les Gueux. L'église fut réhabilitée par la suite, mais page sombre de son histoire ne fut jamais surmontée. Le nombre d'habitants baissa à vue d'oeuil, certainement lorsque Damme devint en outre une ville de garnison pour les Espagnols. Les charges de la grande église devinrent trop lourdes à supporter pour la communauté. Une partie de cette monumentale maison de Dieu fut détruite, de même que la flêche de la tour. Aujourd'hui, les vestiges des murs de séparation entre la nef principale et les nefs latérales donnent une idée de la taille de l'église originale.

 

Des pièces rares

N'hésitez pas à pénétrer dans l'église Onze-Lieve-Vrouw. L'intérieur est impressionnant. Au-dessus des piliers de la nef centrale se dressent des statues d'apôtres en bois, datant du 13e siècle. Elles suvécurent aux troubles réligieux du 16e siècle. Observez également la Sainte-Croix miraculeuse au-dessus de l'autel de la croix. Selon la légende, des pécheurs de Damme ont péché cette croix dans la mer. Elle est portée chaque année lors de la Procession du Saint-Sang à Bruges. L'église abrite encore plusieurs autels baroques précieux et un confessionnal du 17e siècle, ainsi que de très anciennes pierres tombales. Le célèbre poète Jacob van Maerlant y est enterré. Sa tombe originelle a disparu au 18e siècle et seule subsiste actuellement une plaque commémorative.

 

Lire aussi: Roland, gardien de la tour

Partager cette page

Visit Damme

Jacob van Maerlantstraat 3 8340 Damme tel+32 (0)50 28 86 10 toerisme@damme.be
Aujourd'hui
open 13.00-17.00 h.

Pour les professionnels